About the Parish Council

About the Parish Council

Haccombe-with-Combe Parish Council

Image of the village of Combeinteignhead and surrounding fields taken from a hill overlooking the village

The Parish Council is an essential part of local democracy and has powers to use the precept for the benefit of the Parish. We are committed to representing the interests of the community and constantly strive to improve the life of our parishioners and enhance the local environment.

The parish is made up of Combeinteignhead village and the hamlets Haccombe, Netherton, Lower Netherton and Buckland Barton, as well as encompassing areas in Milber and Buckland on the outskirts of Newton Abbot.  It is a friendly and thriving community which has grown in recent years with 775 residents registered to vote in 2019.

Haccombe-with-Combe Parish is represented by 10 councillors; 6 for the rural ward, 2 for the urban ward and 2 for the Hawthorn Ward, who are elected to serve for up to four years. There is provision for a by-election or co-option when a vacancy occurs. The Council employs a part-time clerk.

The current Parish Councillors are Tim Boarer (Chair), Gill Humble (Vice-chair), Sue Duggleby, James Eaton, Julia Evans, Robert Hussey, Simon Pattinson and Dave Squires. We currently have two vacancies. If you care about the parish and want to represent its interests by joining us please contact our Chairman on 07831 368511 or Clerk. The Parish clerk is Suzanna Hughes: admin@haccombewithcombe.co.uk

We work closely with the District and County Councillors, community groups, police, business and, most importantly, our residents. We budget wisely and look for best value for money and seek opportunities for external funding to improve the Parish. We support local community organisations and new initiatives for the benefit of the Parish, and also manage assets including the Village Car Park and Hearn Field. The day to day management of Hearn Field is looked after by a committee which meets separately.

The Parish Council also provides a conduit for information between the District and County Councils and local people. It voices concerns on issues such as highway maintenance, traffic, refuse collection and policing. We are consulted on local planning applications and although we can inform the local authority of our views, we cannot approve or reject applications ourselves. Planning applications are dealt with either within the monthly meeting or by the Planning Committee (which is a committee of the Parish Council).

Our County Councillors (Alistair Dewhirst and Gordon Hook), our District Councillor (Mike Haines) and our Community Police Officer PC Rob Harvey usually attend Parish Council meetings.

The public and press are welcome to attend all meetings of the Council (unless temporarily excluded by a special resolution). A period of up to 15 minutes is available at the beginning of the meeting when the public can ask questions or make statements. After this they may only speak at the Chairman’s discretion.

Council meetings are normally held on the first Wednesday of the month in the committee room of the Village Hall at 7.30pm.